Vision to RINSE out adamance!

13 Nov

A few days ago, I felt very strongly against people who made it beyond obvious that they cared enough to pay attention to/ respected only the well-dressed, beautified, pancaked, awesomely-fluent, empty-talkers, snobbishly securing their place in society; while practically not caring two hoots about the hard-working, dawn-to-dusk slogging, sincere, honest, dedicated and ethical types. To make matters worse, for the most part, I know that I feature in the lot at the latter half of that statement. ๐Ÿ˜• ๐Ÿ˜•

Did it pinch? Oh, yes. Did I complain and make a big show of it to anyone who I felt would stop to listen? Quite as much. But did their answers give me hope? Umm, let’s see. Most said, “That’s the way it is and there’s nothing you or I can do about it.” Some said, “Don’t bother about what the others think; do things for you. Do what makes YOU happy!” Aha! Yes, I know. It’s nice to talk these things, is what I thought as I continued to contemplate and muddle with my depressive feelings; then, just like that, I gave up. I had convinced myself that I’d be OKAY with staying in my dimly-lit life, with an almost invisible profile to my credit. I had decided that I shouldn’t have to change for anyone; it had to be the others who’d have to go in search of vision- vision that’d teach them to appreciate the unique beauty there is in each one of us- the beauty that I was sure, lay in the eyes of the beholder.

Today, God threw me headlong into a crowd that was exactly the kind I had decided I never could be with and surely, didn’t want to become. I found myself struggling with my appearance. [For those who read my other motivational blog and are thinking, “NO! This girl didn’t just say that!” Well, honeys, I just did. Welcome to reality. Grab a big mouthful of it and let’s move back into the conversation, that will continue to remain one-sided for however long I please, of course! ๐Ÿ˜€] I tried hard to pull on, willing the minutes to pass faster than they seemed to be, making sure I crawled back into my shell as and when time permitted- UNCOOL.

Everything in life needs getting used to; it is true. In a while, before I knew it, the novelty of the fear I was experiencing was gone- now, THAT, my friends, is the beauty of the amazingly short-lived human attention span, which again, is another story in itself, if you ask me! ๐Ÿ˜‰ One thing I noticed while I was there, that I’ll be brave enough to admit to, was this- I formed opinions of people based on how they dressed, spoke and presented themselves, too. FAIL, I thought with regret; but now that I think about it, we all WANT to get better in each aspect of our lives- so, if people look like they take care of themselves and love themselves like they ought to, they obviously teach us a great deal by just breathing the same air and by being in the same room as us. We’re all brilliant pupils who know precisely where there is a lesson worth learning; and we absorb each intricate detail just like we’re meant to.

I WANT to be awesome, fun and self-loving; I want to be a fantastic teacher, too. I know now for sure that external appearances and fabulous talks do notย compensate for the requirement of a good heart in anybody. Even a brief encounter can reveal what truly flourishes beneath the surface and if that picture ain’t a pretty one, people ain’t happy- I can vouch for that given what I saw. ๐Ÿ™‚

For the knowledge I have found in this day, for the perfect (albeit, concealed) opportunity to understand myself better and for the rigid notions I held on to that continue to melt away as I write, I will remain eternally grateful. I do not know what it is that brings solutions to all of our problems tumbling and bouncing our way- God, our thoughts or some pre-determined script that some call fate– whatever it is, it works; and it works beautifully perfectly, in the most mysterious of all ways possible. I am truly glad it IS all exactly the way it is. ๐Ÿ˜‰

4 Responses to “Vision to RINSE out adamance!”

  1. Sushmita December 9, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    what a post!!!!!!!!!!!!WOW!!! funny..how much it sounds like me!!! i do that all the time when i am in crowd….trying to gauge story behind that extra layer of mascara and carefully done up hair … i feel sad for them.. sometimes even i have that instinct!! mostly when i am suffering from high inferiority due to my average looks and below average presentation!! … and i hate myself for that…when you open your mouth and talk ..the same beautifully crafted beauties start revolving around you for inspirations!! haa..haa.. and i feel like a fool…. loved your post darling…imagine if two of us sit over a cup of coffee!!! we will have a blast!!!

  2. Of One Heart December 9, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Coffee, you and me- MANDATORY for someday. Has to happen! Don’t try to look too gorgeous when you meet me though or I might just duck behind a pick-up menu and flee. ๐Ÿ˜• Okay??

    p.s. Did you just mention average looks somewhere in your comment? Because I feel blinded suddenly.

  3. Kitty December 14, 2011 at 1:13 am #

    Ha ha!!!! – I know exactly what you mean. I too often look at over made up people (aka airheads!!!!) and wonder what they are trying to conceal or make u for!! Don’t get me wrong, I like to look good, I looove my makeup… but in no way is this the most important thing in life.. substance is!! Being a good person, with morals and wanting to help others does. Brilliant post!! x

  4. Of One Heart December 18, 2011 at 6:56 am #

    Kitty, I’m just about learning to love my make-up! I’m getting there! ๐Ÿ˜€

Comments are closed.

